Ars Electronica STARTS PRIZE 2017

January 1st, 1970

This year’s STARTS PRIZE recipients come from Japan and Switzerland. “I’m Humanity” garnered the Grand Prize for Artistic Exploration for Etsuko Yakushimaru; the Grand Prize for Innovative Collaboration goes to Gramazio Kohler Research at ETH–Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich and the Self-Assembly Lab at MIT for their “Rock Print” installation. In addition to their STARTS trophy, the winners in both categories receive €20,000 and can look forward to prominent appearances in Amsterdam, Brussels and Linz. STARTS stands for Science, Technology and Arts. The STARTS PRIZE, an initiative of the European Commission, spotlights people and projects making a significant, lasting contribution to Europe’s social, ecological and economic future. The aim is to foster innovation for and in Europe. The Waag Society of Amsterdam, Brussels-based BOZAR and Ars Electronica Linz were commissioned to conduct the STARTS PRIZE proceedings. 2,977 entries from 97 countries were submitted for 2017 STARTS PRIZE consideration.

The 2017 Prizewinners

Grand Prize Artistic Exploration:
I’m Humanity / Etsuko Yakushimaru

Grand Prize Innovative Collaboration:
Rock Print / Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich, & Self-Assembly Lab, MIT


Vorheriger Artikel

Nächster Artikel